Mirror Mirror on the Wall

My mother told me more than once I changed everything about myself when I started my first p/t working in a posh upscale north shore boutique.
She was partially right. The two thirty something owners were both tiny, clever and very intimidating. I was totally shocked when “Dina” a size 2 petite brunette hired me after my interview.
Still lacking confidence in myself and my looks, which radically changed through my teens. My facial disease seemed to go into remission when i was about 14 and every month since then I was getting silicone shots to “fix” the damage to my face. Unlike botox and other modern fillers where you see instant results, silicone was administered in very little amounts each month and it took years and over 100,000 dollars until nobody noticed anything was wrong with my face. Everyone but me. Going through the trauma of being told I was going to die by the age of 15. the sheer terror of people staring at me and going through adolescence with a facial deformity was always going to be part of who I was forever. I scars were now almost invisible but I was and still am scared forever.
Sometimes good things come out of very bad experiences. I believe everything happens for a reason.
I learned that “looks” are not what truly make you beautiful. I was a absolutely gorgeous child and even was scouted by Ford Models at age 5 while walking with my dad in NYC.
Suddenly anyone at anytime can lose their “looks” like me. It happens. I depended on my family, friends, my outgoing personality, my love of playing the violin and tennis to get through the hardest years of my life.
Suddenly I realized It was time to look in the mirror again. Ironically I had no choice, the entire store’s walls were completely mirrored, lol.
I guess this was a sign from God that it was time to look to the future and leave the past behind.
That’s exactly what I did…..

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/782/54902911/files/2014/12/img_0843.jpg

3 thoughts on “Mirror Mirror on the Wall

Comments are closed.