The Swan Princess

Growing up I had a few minor hook-ups mostly when I had a little too much too drink at a club or a party. I basically spent most of my teenage years observing and listening to my popular girlfriends telling me every intimate detail about their boyfriends.
I learned to be a good listener and even offered my advice if they asked me. I wasn’t ever bitter or jealous of my friends who had boyfriends because I knew I my time would come when boys would start to notice me.
The summer before I started college I worked in a camp as a life guard during the day and at night went to many parties where teens from many local north shore camps would meet up in a local club. One night I went with my close friend “Karen” to a small club that somehow survived the post disco era. My friend karen ,who like me had never had a “real” boyfriend , spotted this hunky dark haired guy who really wasn’t my type. She must of caught his attention because he was walking towards us and karen got all excited. OMG she whispered, ” he is so hot and I think he is going to ask me to dance.”
Then he approached us and introduced himself to us. His name was Jeff and he was from Jericho. Then he asked us our names and I let Karen do all the talking. Then the strangest thing happened, Jeff asked me to dance and not Karen. She gave me a nasty look but for the first time in my life I put myself first and spent the rest of the night feeling like a princess at her first ball.
Karen however made quite a few nasty comments about Jeff on the drive home. “He’s never going to call you any way” she said.
That’s was the moment I finally stood up for myself and replied, “It’s not my fault he was more attracted to me than you!”
The next day Jeff came over my house to go swimming in my pool. I answered the door confidently in a white bikini. “WOW! was Jeff’s response.
After years of feeling like a ugly duckling I finally became a swan.

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/782/54902911/files/2014/12/img_1039.jpg

3 thoughts on “The Swan Princess

Comments are closed.