Summer On Long Island’s South Shore

        One of the reasons I moved to the town of Merrick on the South Shore of Long Island because my first true love grew up here and I remember visiting him when he lived with his parents and was impressed that his whole block had a unobstructed view of the bay leading into the Atlantic Ocean. Most of these homes had their own docks where their luxurious yachts and expensive fast motorboats were anchored and ready to go . 

        I never realized the town I picked to move to on the south shore is a five minute car ride to Jones Beach. So I am spoiled because I never have to deal with beach traffic !  

       

   

      Most people on the South Shore who don’t live on waterfront property belong to various beach clubs which offer cabanas and restaurants. However, there are long waiting lists to   become a member of these limited space beach clubs. 

     The next best thing is having a jetski where a 14 year old can take a short course and get a license to legally drive one without a parent. My daughter has a few friends that just got new jetskis that cost approx 3000  dollars each when they graduated Middle School!  My daughter has been jetskiing all summer on her best friends hot pink jetski that seats three riders. I have been a little nervous thinking about my baby 14 year old going approx 70MPH in the bay that leads into the Atlantic Ocean.  I guess that is normal. 

   Since I lived most of my life on the North Shore where people have pools in their backyards,belong to country clubs, and going on a huge cruise ship was my idea of “boating” , moving to the South Shore was quite a change for me. 

      I however, opted to buy a house across the street from the bay and I am one of the few houses to have a huge built-in pool in my backyard. I guess I will always be a North Shore Princess!  

       Yes, this is my favorite float currently in my pool! 

